Skip to main content

Bronkhorst, Gizelle Terreblanche

A mother myself of 2 sweet little girls, one of 6 years old and one of almost 3, who has been working in the childcare sector for over 20 years. I consider myself a proactive, responsible, gentle and a fun caregiver with a wealth of practical experience and knowledge. I strive to help and encourage all children to learn and develop to their full potential.  I provide a loving home from home childminding setting, where outdoors and play groups form a fundamental part of our weekly learning experience and meeting up with other childminders and parents, contribute to providing a well-rounded safe place to explore, learn and develop. Visits to the library, walks in the park and feeding the ducks are just some of the exciting and fun excursions that we all look forward to doing every week. We often attend ‘special’ days out, which the children can’t wait to attend.

I believe in following a predominantly child led learning journey, which develops confidence and life skills. When choosing which arts and crafts to set out for the day, I always have a themed unit of enquiry which I try to incorporate across all our activities to provide a learning experience simultaneously. Storytime is an important part of learning and I combine story time and quiet time to create the perfect wind down experience for nap time.  Music and dance, baking and cooking, gardening and building are all integral to learning and we provide a wide variety of stimulating activities to maximise the development and learning of each child. I have a smart, gentle and loving Yorkie-Russell terrier dog that is so good with children; we try to encourage children to be comfortable with animals.

I am an OFSTED registered and home-based childminder and am happy to work with children whose first language is not English as I am TEFL (Teaching English to Foreign Language) qualified. I am a believer that knowledge is so important and continue to develop my skills continuously whether it is directly related to childcare or personal development.

Who to contact

Contact Name
Gizelle Bronkhorst

Where to go

Gizelle Bronkhorst

A little about our setting. We have a total of 6 children daily, aged from 22 months.
My husband and I are both registered childminders with all the necessary training required to give the best possible care. We have a big garden with loads of outdoor toys. We love the outdoors and are always visiting new parks/playgrounds at least twice a week. We regularly attend playgroups and days out to new places.
Daily routines vary as OFSTED requires us to be highly adaptable to the children in our care in respect to the EY framework and we always let the children decide what to do and play with. However, we still encourage a learning experience with each play session respectively, through planned purposeful play.
A typical day:
7-8.15 arrival
8-8.45 breakfast
8.45-10 free play/learning session and story time
10-12 outdoors (garden/playground/playgroup)
12.30-1 lunch
1-2.45 sleep/rest
3-4 free play/learning session and story time
4.30-5 tea
5 home time for most, if home time is later then free play until home time
All food is included and we provide at least 2 hot meals a day depending on the weather. When at home we offer a home from home teaching environment where the children are constantly stimulated and encouraged to learn around what they are capable of. I offer learning journals to keep parents up to date of their child's development and we constantly challenge the children regularly to step out of their boundaries a little.
All communication is done via an online app, which records sleep time, toilet time and meals. Also all learning progress and observations can be viewed here. If you would like a visit with us, we would love to meet with you and show you around, please let us know when is a good time.

Other Details


Table of costs
Table of costs
AmountCost Type
£6.50 Per Hour
Including food for full time daily, all outings under £3 per child, all travel

Inclusion Information

Wheelchair Access

Has Provision

Dietary Needs

Has Provision
All meals are prepared fresh by myself. I have a great deal of experience cooking for all allergies or food preferences.

Childcare Information


No current availability
Date updated

Funded Places

3 & 4 year old funding
2 year old funding

Opening Times & Facilities

Opening Times
Opening Times
DayOpening TimeClosing Time
Monday 07:00 19:00
Tuesday 07:00 19:00
Wednesday 07:00 19:00
Thursday 07:00 19:00
Friday 07:00 19:00
no smoking household
Off-site trips
Open Space
Visits & Outings
Childminder Drop-ins
Children work to the early years foundation stage
Nature Walks
Very homely setting
Visits To The Lookout
Constructive Play
Water Play
Outings in summer
Wendy House
Outside Play
Computer Learning/video games
Visits & Outings (Local)
Outdoor Play
Visits to local Parent & Toddler Groups
Outdoor Play Area
Visits To The Library
People carrier
Daily organised activities
Paddling pool/waterplay
Woodland Area
Woodland walk
Parent & Toddler Groups
Park visits
Creative area
Play Area
Detailed report of childs day and meal plan.
Play Equipment
Play House
Pets (in garden)
Playground and field
Educational games & activities
Enclosed Garden
Play kitchen
Play Park
Play Room
Prentend kitchen
Ride on toys
Quiet Area
Quiet Room
Free Play
Quiet time
Freeplay Toys
Safety surfaces in outside play area
Garden Play, planting and watching plants grow.
Sand and Water Play
garden toys
Sand and water play area
Role Play
Safe enclosed play area
Garden & apparatus/toys
Safe Play
Garden Apparatus
Garden Play
Have a car
Seasonal Activities
Secure Garden
Homework area
small trampoline
Homework assistance
Hot Breakfast
Home cooked food
Sleeping Area
Sleeping Room
Home role play area
Indoor Play Area
Activity equipment
Interest Table
Activity table
Hot meals provided
soft play visits
Access to computer and internet
Access to public library
Structed Play
Arts & Crafts
Attend weekly Childminders Drop-ins
Supervised indoor & outdoor games
Adventure playground
Junk modeling
Baby Toys
Learning about nature
Learning through play
Baby changing
Baby Corner
Baby Garden
Large outdoor sandpit
Baby room
Bedroom cots
Library Visits
Toddler groups
Literacy & Numeracy activities
Board Games
Lego building
Ball games
Lending Library & Videos
Toys & equipment
Messy play
Breakfast available
train set
Book Corner
Local Park
Local visits & outings
Bottle Warming Facilities
Music & Movement
Musical Equipment
Chalk and colouring board
Musical Instruments
Changing facilities

School Pickups

Offers pickups
my Vehicle is insured and I have held a comprehensive driver’s license since 1997

Ofsted Information

Ofsted URN
Link to latest ofsted inspection report 
Inspection history
Inspection History
Inspection DateInspection typeInspection Outcome
07/07/2022Inspection (Early Years Register)Inadequate

Local Offer

Contact Name
Gizelle Bronkhorst
Contact Telephone
Contact Email
Local Offer Age Bands
Early Years (0-4 years)
Primary (4-10 years)
Junior (7-11 years)
Record last reviewed on 06/07/2022
Powered by Open Objects © Idox Software Ltd